Currently we have 45 Sports Friends Church Denominational leaders at Camp for the week going through a refresher course. They give reports on their programs and it is a time for teaching and encouragement for all. And of course – every day we play a football match! After the match one of the women asked me where my husband was, I promptly responded with ‘he is at home, cooking dinner.’ Those words nearly killed her. After picking her jaw up off the ground, she asked me to clarify my statement. Haha. I kindly spilled it out for her once more. She could hardly believe it. Finally she exclaimed in pure amazement ‘Abasha (Ethiopian) culture is so different from foreignji (American) culture. In Abasha culture the husband would never cook dinner if  the wife was out playing football.’  I told her that my husband was amazing and I reassured her that he was a great cook. While it may be uncommon in Ethiopia, I love the fact that my husband is willing to serve me by cooking dinner while I’m out ‘knocking the rock’ :) 
What a blessing Bryan is to me!
DiAnn
6/20/2012 09:06:20 am

Like Father, like son.

Reply
Pat
6/20/2012 02:37:56 pm

Glad he can be of service to you while you are showing the locals how to knock the rock a bit!....Are they wearing boots this week or natural foot......and how is your pitch ...green? thanks for the insight.

Reply
Kath
7/5/2012 11:43:24 pm

LOVE this!!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.