Until we go to language school in November, we have been attempting to learn some Amharic and a tiny bit of Oromo from the staff here on the compound. Thankfully everyone has been very gracious and patient with us as we butcher the language and attempt to use Amhar-glish :) (a combination of English and the little Amharic we know). Amharic is difficult because the language does not use the English alphabet and many of the sounds are brand new to us. It takes a while for our ears to adjust to the new sounds and even longer for our mouths to be able to replicate them. But we are trying and Lord willing we will continue to pick up the language.

Luckily there are a few words that sound similar to English words, but they have completely different meanings. The other day I was laughing at how funny my conversations with Ethiopians must sound to native English speakers. Here are a few Amharic words I use on a daily basis that sound English but have completely different meanings!
8/6/2012 10:35:56 pm

Haha, I love it! We'll have to be careful about that when we get there.
How did your meeting go for Bryan's work permit?

Reply
Anna Lynn
8/7/2012 03:06:38 am

lol, you will have to add to this when you start attending language classes! I would get so confused....I think "lemon" is my favorite. "And" for one and "eye" for no would probably give me the most trouble--"and" is just such a common English word, moreso than the others on that list, so I think it would be harder to remember that it doesn't mean what I'm used to....and "eye" sounds like "aye" which in English is yes! Oh my!

Reply
8/9/2012 01:12:33 pm

I LOVE reading updates from yall! My time in the states is coming to a close. 100% funded, praise God, finishing PILAT and SPLICE time at MTI, finishing visa business, and hopefully flying out October 1st! I cannot wait to butcher a language with you guys. One thing they taught us in PILAT is "learn to laugh at yourselves, quickly!" DONE!

Reply
12/13/2018 03:18:58 pm

i am ethiopian

Reply



Leave a Reply.