Picture
I spent most of last week working with a group of nearly 30 people at the SIM Baboguya retreat center in an attempt to give the place a facelift. The work was hard and plentiful; the days were long and tiring. But at the end of the week I felt more refreshed. Looking back, that is because of the friendship and fellowship. Half of the people working with me last week were from the Church at Charlotte. Some of the team members came to Langano last year as well.

It was a great week because I was able to sit down and have good conversations about all kinds of things from family to church and from construction to sports. The sincere, honest, open hearts and conversation were so good for my soul. I miss having good conversations like I used to have back home. Laughter was also a constant companion this week.  One night sitting around a table talking half a dozen men broke out in a surprisingly good round of singing the hookie-pokie. The reason you ask, well that’s how you had to take a shower … you put your right arm in, you take your right arm out …

Praise God with me for the blessing of this team. They had a huge impact on turning things around at Baboguya and for encouraging our Ethiopian staff. But, selfishly, they were a big boost for me at a time when God knew I needed the friendship and fellowship. 





Leave a Reply.