Picture
Nicole riding Trooper - "Good horsey!!!"
As we get closer to leaving the beautiful U.S of A. and heading to our new home in Ethiopia, we have been preparing physically, spiritually, mentally, and emotionally for the transition. This week my task was to learn how to ride a horse! Prior to about 3:30 pm on April 3, 2012, my only experience with a horse had been a couple trail rides at summer camp in middle school. On these trail rides each rider was riding a horse that was tied to another horse in front and in rear. The most exciting part of the ride was when either your horse or the horse in front of you decided to relieve himself! Haha.  All of this to say - I was a newbie to the whole horse riding thing. 

In true Southern style, I showed up to my lesson (Thanks Jacki and Hannah Cook!) in my cowboy boots. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of washing my jeans yesterday, so getting on Trooper, the horse, was a little bit of a struggle - note to self: wear jeans that have been worn a few times :)  Trooper was a good horse. He was very patient with me as I worked out some form and dexterity issues! But after 2 hours of riding, I had successfully learned how to walk, jog, and lope! Sometimes I would forget to steer or I would start chatting and forget to look where I wanted Trooper to go, which would typically result in me accidentally steering Trooper into a barrel... Sorry Trooper! By the end of my lesson Trooper was getting tired and stubborn, but the Cook ladies made sure I learned how to show the horse who is the boss!!! 

With a little more practice, I'll be ready to ride out to villages so that I can play soccer and share the love of Christ with Ethiopians!!! I'm stoked! And a little bit sore haha :)
Kristi Florek
4/5/2012 11:05:04 am

Looking good Nicole!

Reply



Leave a Reply.