It has been about 4 days since we first arrived at Camp Langano. We were greeted with smiles, hugs, and homemade goodies :)  Our foreigni teammates have been looking out for us through the transition. Whether it be meals, advice, or supplies, they are more than willing to help us get on our feet. Last night was the first time that we had electricity since we have been here!!! That means we finally got to turn our refrigerator on. Oh man, a cold drink after a long day of work in the hot sun is a beautiful thing!!!

Most meals that we have not had with the foreignis, we have been eating at the Camp dining hall. The typical lunch at Camp consists of Injera with shiro (a gorbanzo bean paste/stew) and stewed cabbage & potatoes. Two nights ago, the Camp dinner was slaughtered by the hands of my cute husband! :) The poor goats totally knew they were going to die. Who knew goat blood was such a vibrant and bold  color of red?!? The guards and the 2 guys Bryan is  working with got a good laugh at him slaughtering the goats. 

Last night I made my first meal in our new place! Penne Pasta w/ tomato sauce, bread, and an apple. I know, not the most healthy meal – but we didn’t have electricity, so I was cooking via candlelight and I totally forgot to bleach a veggie to have as a side dish in time to eat it with the hot pasta. Live and learn! The meal turned out pretty good – I think Bryan was impressed :) The meal went off without any issues until I realized that the bread we were eating was super moldy…oops. My bad. I’m just trying to build up our immune systems haha. It will take a while to feel completely settled - but we are enjoying 

Matt and Kristi
5/15/2012 11:37:45 pm

Oops on the moldy bready! :) What doesn't kill you makes you grow stronger!

Reply
Elysia
5/17/2012 04:06:01 am

Questions: 1) What does "foreigni" mean? Is it synonymous with "Ethiopian" ? I must have missed a post or two. 2) "bleach" a vegetable? As in household bleach?

Reply



Leave a Reply.