Last night I came home to my cute husband after being at the field all day coaching and refereeing futball matches. I plopped down at the kitchen table, guzzled down some water and began conversing with Bryan. After a few minutes I stopped him mid-sentence and ask, "Do you smell that?!?!" Sniffing the air, he makes a face that lets me know it is indeed a foul and potent smell. We spent the next 10 minutes trying to figure out what the smell was. Of course, my first thought was - Bryan, but he had just showered so unless he forgot soap I knew he was not the culprit. Bryan of course thought it was me. I quickly decided that I did smell bad but the foul smell that had permeated the room smelled more of rotting animal/feces. After searching the entire kitchen for the source of the smell and coming up empty handed, we left to go to the camp's evening program. 

I forgot about the smell until the next morning. Like most weekday mornings, I got up early and ran morning exercises and a technical session for 80 campers. After the session, I ran back to my house for a couple pancakes. Upon entry into the house I was hit with the nasty rotting animal/feces combination. I sit down and the smell intensifies. And then it hits me. Yup - after being in my boots (cleats) my feet are carrying the foul rotting animal/feces smell. 

After feeding the campers breakfast, I went over to the camp staff house Bryan is installing tile in to tell him the news. You should have seen the smile on his face! His eyes told me everything - he was sooo glad that it was my feet and not his :)
Grandma
7/13/2012 06:43:51 am

Do you wear soxs in those boots?

Reply



Leave a Reply.