A familiar face. Deep discussions with good friends of spiritual things in English. Dove chocolates. Oh the things in life that I have been missing.

Last week we were blessed by the presence of a short term team from New Heights Church in Fayetteville, Arkansas. Now some of you may be thinking..."Fayetteville, Arkansas?!?!?! Who do you know there?!?!" Well, when it was time to head off to college in pursute of our collegiate athletic careers, I chose Vanderbilt University and my best friend, Kathleen, chose the University of Arkansas. Over the years, I have made several trips to Northwest Arkansas and her friends have graciously welcomed me with open arms and become my friends. So much so that as part of a 6-week long missions trip, Kathleen's roommate brought a team to Camp Langano for a week to serve along side us and encourage us! This was the first time my "American world" and my "Ethiopian world" truly collided, and I loved every second of it.

As an extra special bonus, one of Kathleen's brothers and his wife joined us for the week. Growing up he was like my big brother, whom we always thought needed to be aggravated and provoked. But by the grace of God we have both matured and it was fun to have meaningful discussions with him about life, ministry and church. As we reminisced, it was crazy to see how we have both grown up in the last 13 years. 

Thank you all for coming to serve the Ethiopians and love on us! We are blessed beyond measure.



Leave a Reply.