In the past week and a half I have spent a lot of time on the road. But driving in Ethiopia has it own unique challenges as well as entertaining sights. Not only do you have to watch out for maniac drivers on drugs, but there are more than a few fearless donkeys, goats, sheep and cows who believe that food can be found on the other side of the road, or perhaps right in the middle of the road. Did I mention the people riding bicycles or standing on the white line waiting for rides? I’m grateful for God’s protection; I have no doubt we would be dead without it! But a picture is worth a thousand words, so here are a few for your enjoyment. 
Picture
Sure it looks a little dangerous to be riding on top of the truck. But when you find out that the truck was traveling at 60+ miles per hour, it puts a new spin on insanity.
Picture
This gives a whole new meaning to “eminent domain.” I guess the government didn’t want to buy the whole property, so they just cut away part of the concrete building and but up tin along the new property line.
Picture
Just like an urban setting where property (in this case vehicles) is expensive, you build up. Here, they stacked a layer of sheep above cows by setting the sheep on wooden poles that were stuck through the side of the truck.
Picture
That’s right, two signs – Flammable & Non-Flammable. I still think I would refrain from striking a match anywhere near this truck.
Picture
Oh ya, I forgot to mention that you also have to watch out for camel crossings too! I hope your commute to work is a little less adventurous this week.



Leave a Reply.