Shoes

12/29/2013

0 Comments

 
Picture
Shoes are a wonderful thing. They protect your feet, keep you comfortable, clean and warm. If you can't tell, I like having my feet inside of my shoes. I typically wear steel toed 6" work boots. My feet are well protected, my ankles are supported and I can go anywhere. My wife is quick to point out that even my "dress" shoes have steel toes and a thick, strong sole. 

But then we came to Asia where all of the countries that we visited share one thing in common. Here, you are supposed to take your shoes off before entering a building, nearly every building. This leaves my poor feet with nothing more than socks to protect them and keep them warm. The uninviting, cold tile floors slowly suck the heat from my body as my toes fight frostbite. The bottom of my foot is pained by the lack of padded comfort once found in my boots. My arches long for the all day suspension support system that has helped bear its burden for years. Now, as I sit in the airport headed back to the land where footwear is welcome, my feet are content within the safe confines of my trusty old boots.




Leave a Reply.